The first lectures - Reisverslag uit Kingston upon Hull, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Marion Herder - WaarBenJij.nu The first lectures - Reisverslag uit Kingston upon Hull, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Marion Herder - WaarBenJij.nu

The first lectures

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marion

07 Februari 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Kingston upon Hull

After two lectures, I think I can say that the level of the lectures is lower than in the Netherlands. If you are good prepared, the information on the powerpoint-slides won’t be new for you. Hopefully it will get more difficult in the next lectures. I’m also very curious about the tutorials: is there any room for discussion, or just listening to the lecturer and do group work? Do I have to read academic articles, or only read the core-handbook?

I’m planning to visit cities close to Hull, like York this Saturday and Manchester in the next weekend. Hopefully, the weather will be as good as this week: only a few rainy moments and more sunshine! But it still is the UK, so I think I have to prepare for the worst haha.

Wednesday is my day off, I don’t have any lectures or tutorials. So in the morning I went out for a short run, and after having breakfast I went to Primark. In Holland, primark is really a busy place. But here in Hull, there were only a few people in the shop. I signed up for the course ‘english for academic purposes’ at the language school. Yesterday I had another lecture (economics of government) and I went to the city centre by foot, just a 45 min walk. There is a big supermarket, Tesco’s, which looks a bit like ‘Carrefour’ in France.

The lacrosse-training on Tuesday was fun, but the sport is more difficult than I thought it would be. Also, the team wasn’t very open to new people… I tried hockey yesterday, and decided to join the team. About the thermo-leggings: it was a good choice to wear both leggings and pants. Today I feel all my muscles, so no work-out for today ;) After the hockey-training, and after a hot shower, I went to the karaoke at the campus.

Just a few minutes ago my first study-book - the economics of money, banking and finance - arrived: i ordered books on Amazon.com. So let the studying begin...

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marion

Actief sinds 07 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 262
Totaal aantal bezoekers 18132

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Januari 2014 - 01 Juli 2014

Studying in Hull

Landen bezocht: