Amazing last two weeks – no time to write a blog! - Reisverslag uit Kingston upon Hull, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Marion Herder - WaarBenJij.nu Amazing last two weeks – no time to write a blog! - Reisverslag uit Kingston upon Hull, Verenigd Koninkrijk van Marion Herder - WaarBenJij.nu

Amazing last two weeks – no time to write a blog!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Marion

12 Juni 2014 | Verenigd Koninkrijk, Kingston upon Hull

I didn´t upload a blog for a long time. The reason why? There was literally no time to write! My life feels like a rollercoaster at the moment, really enjoying my last week in Hull and at the same moment saying goodbye to good friends. The last coffees together; the last predrinks; the last parties; the last afterparties... everything is more intense in these last two weeks and together with not that much of sleep it results in... a rollercoaster!

Saying goodbye started with the departure of my flatmate Jacopo, and last week a lot of lovely people left Hull. It feels so strange to know that my stay in England will end soon. In about a few days I will be back in Holland, and although I am looking forward to see everyone again, I will also be very sad when I will leave my house and lock the front door for the very last time…

The only thing I did the last two weeks of May was studying. I stopped counting how many times I walked from my home to the library and back. Even though I studied a, there were also moments of fun: try not to laugh about the very funny things that occur on Facebook or conversations on whatsapp, or during the breaks I have together with friends. My last exam was on a Wednesday, luckily in the morning, so around noon I was very happy: no more exams! I think I did well in my exams; I wrote as much as I could which resulted in a painful wrist. After the last exam i felt relieved, and i celebrated the ending of the academic year with my classmates Hannah and Theresa by having a good lunch in the cantine at campus. After this last exam on the 4th of June I finally had time to relax.

The dinner we had with the girls on Wednesday was named ‘the last dinner’. This week I should start writing all the recipes in a book or print them, so that I can cook them for friends and family in Holland! I bet they will like the German and Czech dishes (and cakes!!). After the dinner it was time to party – our last asylum party with all our friends.
Last Friday I joined Leandro and Rafael to buy suits in the city centre, and I discovered that a good suit is not easy to find! I missed a picknick because of this but I really enjoyed shopping with the guys – maybe because i have never had a brother haha. After the shopping we have been to the big supermarket to buy food for the bbq later that evening. This was our one and only bbq (mainly because of the weather) but I really enjoyed having a bbq in the backyard!

All the parties we had here in Hull were very good – but the best one was the end of the year ball. This huge event took place at the campus itself – but you wont recognize the university builidings because while walking around it felt like a festival. Utrecht University should introduce this event in Utrecht; it was great to end the semester with a ball and to see everyone dressed up. Before the ball we had a predrink and the pictures made there will be the most beautiful pictures in the album of Hull – because everytime i see the photos, i cant stop smiling :) A Brazilian friend had the opportunity to play at the ball and everyone looked so happy during his performance... Later on I saw ‘naughty boy’ in Asylum and we discovered that partying while wearing balldresses and suits is not that comfortable (very hot! painfull feet!).

Tuesday was Anne’s last day in Hull and first we had a coffee and then we enjoyed summer: eating icecream in the backyard! Wednesday after the last hug with Anne I walked to the stadion with Kristina, Radka and Nicole. The market was a reminder of how typical the city Hull is, and that the most important places during my life in the UK were the street i live in (Cranbrook) and Auckland Avenue and of course the campus. After this walk i slept for two more hours and had a very last Hull-coffee with Franziska and Nicole. Yesterday I stood before my closet and I decided that at this moment Im fully integrated in the British way of living. So I decided to wear a very British party outfit: short pink pants with tights, heels and a black transparent top. This is so typically British... I would never wear this combination in the Netherlands!

I enjoyed every minute the last days and also the last asylum party with the girls meant a lot to me – all the songs we heard reminded us of this wonderfull semester. At the end of the evening we stood on the empty dancefloor and cried, because when we looked in this nightclub we knew we are gonna miss it – not the partying itself but partying with all the lovely people we met here... I have the same feeling when I look at the purple couches in the living room. We had so many funny moments at these couches that I now appreciate the horrible purple colour haha.
The fact that i couldn’t fall asleep that easily even thought i was very tired made me realize that i needed some time to reflect on all those amazing days the last two weeks. I realized that I am surrounded with people from the same age all the time; the only adults I see more often were my lecturers, the cleaning lady and the employees at the library and lidl haha! When I’m back in the Netherlands I will be a daughter, sister, colleague, again instead of being just ‘an international student’.

Together with my flatmate Anne (and some cups of tea) was I able to create some moments to realize how much this semester abroad means to us: and the conclusion is: it means a lot to me! Im not gonna try to write down all the things that I learned here in Hull and that i discovered about myself: I will just say: study abroad and you will realize why I’m so happy now! My mum bought me a small book to let people write down in it, and every time Im opening the book I have tears in my eyes.

Personally I need these last days to get my mind ready to leave Hull and go back to Holland. I felt sad when I said goodbye to Anne this Wednesday (very early at the busstop) and Nicole just left, but at the same time I know that we all had a very good time here and one of the things that made it such a good time was the fact that we knew that this semester would end at some point. This sounds weird but the last two weeks were very intense and the best conversations happened now because this is the time to say the things you want to say to friends and people close to you.

While writing this blog im sitting in our beautiful backyard – its very nice to be surrounded by... stones haha. One of the thing I like about my time abroad (or Erasmus) is that it is very easy to have a nice conversation with someone i barely know. His morning i ate breakfast while sitting at the small stairs in front of my backdoor and my Malaysian neighbour started to talk to me. And two young men just passed by and we had a chat about football – of course, worldcup starts today – and our home countries. People are really open and I appreciate that.

This time in Hull means a lot to me, and what I said: you need to study abroad to fully understand this feeling!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Marion

Actief sinds 07 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 438
Totaal aantal bezoekers 18147

Voorgaande reizen:

28 Januari 2014 - 01 Juli 2014

Studying in Hull

Landen bezocht: